NaBloPoMo: The family

20131111-000419.jpg

20131111-000332.jpg

I have to admit that I found this post a little hard to write. I planned on doing it in my series of what makes me happy because nothing on earth makes me happier than having a loving family like the one I do.

I guess what I found so hard about it was finding a way to put into words the extent to which my family actually make me happy, without sounding cheesy. I quickly realised that, that is probably unavoidable when discussing this topic. And anyway, who cares?!

Both my mum and dad have always been there for me and I couldn’t thank them enough for all they have done for me as I have grown up and for what they do for me now.

As I look back at my childhood I feel truly blessed to have been brought up the way I have been.

I remember when my dad taught me to ride a bike. We were out in the street near my house and he was holding onto the back of my bike as I peddled and tried to stay in control.

He did this for a while until he must have felt confident enough to let go. I don’t think I realised he had let go until he started cheering.

We then got my mum and nan out of the house to come and watch. That is one memory I will never forget and it makes me happy when I think about it.

I will also never forget the camping holidays we went on. In the pouring rain we camped. I guess everyone has to experience a very wet camping trip once in their life!

We also went horse riding up a mountain and cycled up hills on rented bikes in the New Forest!

I will never forget the walks we used to go on. My family would try and make it fun by pretending we were on a big expedition. My dad would chant, ‘I don’t know what you’ve been told’ and we would repeat after him.

I felt like we were trekking through a big jungle. I remember once we walked for three hours because we got lost. My poor nan was exhausted and we all still laugh about it now.

I have gained a lot of my mums traits and many people say I look like her. I’m pleased that I take after her in most ways.

I have however tried to learn from my dad’s free spirit. His ‘what will be, will be’ attitude. I quickly learnt that worrying about what could happen is pointless and being sad about the past won’t make you happier in the future. It took a while to understand his train of thought but now I try and apply it to my day to day life.

I don’t think I could have made a happy list without including something as important as my family. I also must point out that these posts are not in order of what actually makes me happiest. If it was I should be classed as a very superficial person ranking painted nails above my family.

I have so many good memories that I have to thank my family for creating with me.

One thought on “NaBloPoMo: The family

Leave a Reply

